.hello. pig pig!

Meet our newest son! My dream, since I was a small child watching Delta Burke on Designing Women, has been to have a pet pig. I love pigs. They take the number 2 spot on my favorite animal list right under rabbits! I’ve spent the last 2 years trying to convince my husband that a pig is the next step in our parenting lives to add on to 2 dogs and a rabbit. Well, this past week, my dream came true. I found my pig. I just happened to do a random pig search on Craigslist and there he was. A 5 week old miniature pot belly pig named Oliver. I emailed the owner right away and went to see him the next night. We needed to know how he would do with the dogs so she let us bring him home for the night. Of course we couldn’t call him Oliver considering that will be our son’s name once we are blessed with one, so we renamed him Sawyer (all of our boys have SK names so he had to fall in with the pack!) and he’s been the biggest treat of my life!

Oh hi! I’m just snackin!

I must say, pig parenting is quite different from puppy parenting! I’m used to my boys loving being picked up and held and petted constantly, and Sawyer just isn’t that way. The only time you can really down right pet him is when you are feeding him and he’s fine once he’s in your arms, but he hates being picked up. Momma pigs don’t pick up their babies so they just don’t like it. Strangely I’m okay with this though. We’ve had him exactly a week today and yesterday we went on our first outing with him to Petsmart for a new harness. He wasn’t crazy about the car ride, but he LOVED being in the shopping cart. Not sure if it was because he could lay down and still see out, or if it was because of all the attention he got! Every single person in the store came to see him, pet him, hold him, and just dote all over him. He adored the attention and he was quite the little social show off! I was very impressed! One lady (who apparently raises pigs) had him out of the buggy and into her arms before I even knew she was there! Geeze! But she did help me put on his harness, so I guess no harm done. It is hard not to want to scoop him up and love all over him. He is, after all, the cutest porker on the planet if I do say so myself! 😉

I have felt for a while now that our family has been incomplete. Yes, we’ve been trying for a child, but it was something more than that. It felt like someone was missing. Since Sawyer came into our lives, I no longer feel that way. He was our missing piece. He rounds out our now family of 6 perfectly. Still no human children, but 2 dogs, a rabbit, and a pig make for some good times!
He’s the missing link in finally getting this family on a schedule! We are night owls who don’t go to bed until 3 or 4 in the morning then sleep in. I’ve been wanting to change this for a while, but this little ball of bacon is forcing us to do it! He’s in bed by 11 and up by 8 am, no questions! We get up in the morning and go outside to potty, come in for our morning bottle (being 6 weeks he’s still on formula twice a day. Feeding a baby bottle to a pig has seriously made my life!) and our morning bowl of food and veggies, go back outside for more potty time and play time and he plays with the dogs the rest of the day (in between naps on his giant monkey of course!) and then we start the bottle/food/veggie routine before bed as well. Not exciting for most, a complete joy for me!
We have a long way to go as far as figure this little guy out, but I know we are doing our research and doing everything possible to give him the best life he can have.  I’m not sure how many new PBP parents there are out there, but expect more blogs on pig care 101 as we figure it out for ourselves!
What was your dream pet? Did you ever get to make that dream happen? –

One thought on “.hello. pig pig!

  1. Pingback: .hello. Sawyer Sunday | .hello.lj

I just ADORE getting comments! I can't wait to read yours! Thank you so much for hanging out here with me!

