.hello. 4th of July roundup (and a recipe!)

We had quite the wonderful Independence Day this year! We spend the afternoon at my Mother’s eating with my family and spending hours in my sister’s bedroom talking about makeup. It doesn’t get much better than that! After that RJ and I went home and got ready to have our friends over for firework fun!  We had a blast (bud um chi!) playing with the sparklers, which are the only things I’ll touch, while the boys blew up the big guns! I have to share some awesome firework shots with you! I love them!

Annnd, in honor of my dear friend Katie at Hems for Her a little outfit post to go along with the fireworks. I did photos for her fashion blog on Sunday and I had the best time! If you are  looking for inspiration from a curvy fashionista who is super budget friendly you have GOT to check her out, and check out her 4th of July post with my photos!  So at my Mother’s I wanted to go  a little patriotic, but I couldn’t find the dress I had planned on wearing. I wasn’t super comfortable in this outfit, but it did it’s job, and the blue eyeshadow rounded out my lunch look!


When we got home, I quickly changed into something more firework friendly. I knew I’d be sitting on the ground trying to get firework shots so a white dress just wouldn’t do. Not to mention, that jacket was killing me and that belt just wasn’t breathe worthy! Ha! So I threw on a tee shirt, rolled up my jeans (that I’ve undergrown a bit, woot woot!), and put on my new shoes from my fabulous mother in law that are seriously some of the most comfortable things I’ve ever put my feet in! It’s like walking with my feet wrapped in pillows. Oh yeah!

Usually when we have friends over we go all out and everyone brings food, chips, dips, whatever. Well, seeing as we’re all broke as a joke, this was not going to be one of those times. I wanted to have something on hand  just in case anyone needed something yummy though. My mom had store bought no bakes that morning and I had one, and by the time I got home I NEEDED another one. When I looked up the recipe online I realized not only did I have everything on hand, but they were so SUPER easy! I’ve never made them before, but they’re pretty much fool proof! I knew I had to share them with you guys!

 

Ingredients

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 4 tablespoons cocoa
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 cup peanut butter (I use extra crunchy so I have yummy peanut crunch in the cookies)
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 3 cups oatmeal
  • Waxed paper

Directions
In a heavy saucepan bring to a boil, the sugar, cocoa, butter and milk. Let boil for 3 minutes then add peanut butter, vanilla and oatmeal. On a sheet of waxed paper, drop mixture by the teaspoonfuls, until cooled and hardened. I use a cookie scoop so all the cookies are the same size and they only take about 20-30 mins to harden at most!

So easy, so yummy! You’ve got to try them!

Go ahead. Eat them now, feel guilty later!

 

How did you celebrate 4th of July? Do you have any no bake cookies that are a must try?  I can’t wait to hear from you!

5 thoughts on “.hello. 4th of July roundup (and a recipe!)

    • Thank you, love! I’m trying to draw my inspiration from you! I’m sure you can guess how long I ended up looking like that before I ditched the jacket and took off the belt. (I’ll give you a hint it was less than 10 mins after I got to my mom’s house!)

  1. LJ, you are absolutely adorable! I loved your outfit – but I’m with you, give me a t-shirt and jeans! 😉 I’m going to definitely have to try this recipe out, it sounds delicious!

    • I’m telling you! I admire all the fashion bloggers out there. I just can’t do it! I rolled up my jeans for that day and felt like I had a whole brand new outfit! I love clothes, but I always end up wearing the same outfits over and over again. Easy and comfy! That’s me! 😀

I just ADORE getting comments! I can't wait to read yours! Thank you so much for hanging out here with me!

