.hello. creamy chicken spaghetti (recipe)

Sunday night I cooked something that, while inspired, was all mine! No pinterest, no blogs, just me and it was AWESOME! This could be identical to someone else’s recipe, I haven’t checked but I just started playing and it’s what I came up with. I know you guys will enjoy it like I did! Plus it’s toddler and husband approved!
I’ve been babysitting a 2 year old the past couple of weeks and while it has been a blast, it has also been a struggle when it comes to food time. I mean all out war. We discovered if we take away the cup, turn off any TV, and feed him only one food at a time (the most important first) then he does much much better! Last week I needed something quick and easy for dinner so I just threw together some spaghetti. WHOA! He ate the mess out of it! Now goes the on going adventure of finding new and healthy spaghetti options!

Yep, it really is this good!

This recipe didn’t actually start as spaghetti at all actually. The hubby and I have been spending WAY too much money eating out recently and the food has not only been messing with our bank account, but my stomach in general. I was feeling sluggish and gross. I’ve never dealt well with preservatives and fast food. So the other day while out getting all purpose cleaner, we ended up with $150 worth of groceries and a new determination to cook at home! I brought my Better Homes and Garden cook book with me and turned it to the slower cooker section (which I never do) and found a recipe for ‘Ranch Roast”. Now I really can’t stand roast, but I liked everything else in the dish so I wanted to give it a try, plus we got a 2 and a half pound roast for a little over $3! Can’t beat that! I liked the recipe okay and we had guests over that night and they said they loved it, but like I said, I don’t like roast and that was it’s biggest flaw. I decided to try again with chicken and change up a few things. When it was done cooking I looked at it and though, man, this looks like it would make a great pasta sauce, and then it was born. 🙂

Sorry for the lack of 2 of the ingredients in the photo. I didn’t know this would be blog worthy until after I made it!

LJ’s Creamy Chicken Spaghetti

What you need:
6 thawed chicken tenderloins (I made just enough for me and the hubby and a two year old, but we finished it so feel free to add more!)
1 can cream of celery
1 8oz block of cream cheese softened and cut up into small chunks
1 can mild Rotel tomatoes (We use mild because it’s the only kind I like, but feel free to use whatever suits your fancy!)
1 packet ranch dressing mix powder (I think it’s 16 oz? You can just add as much as you want to flavor it with. I used the whole pack)
Dried spaghetti noodles

In a bowl combined all ingredients except the chicken. Place the chicken in a slow cooker heated on high and sprinkle with salt, pepper, and garlic. Pour your creamy soup mixture over the chicken and cook on high for 3.5 hours stirring occasionally!  You can also cook it on low for 7 hours if you need more time. I actually cooked mine on high for 5 hours since that’s how long I was gone but the chicken was more than done. Just make sure your cream cheese has totally melted and combined with the rest of the sauce. Right before you  take your chicken mixture out of the pot cook your noodles per your package suggestions. Remove your noodles from the water, drain, and serve with a yummy amount of sauce on top! Be prepared to make again and again! 🙂

5 thoughts on “.hello. creamy chicken spaghetti (recipe)

  1. I’m always on the lookout for good slow cooker recipes – and this one looks like something I’d love to try! Just like you guys, the Hubs and I are on a mission to eat more at home than out, and my favorite way of doing that is throwing everything in a slow cooker, walking away and coming back when it’s ready to serve! Besides, you had me at cream cheese! LOL!

    • Ooh! PLEASE come back and tell me what you think about it! I’m hooked!
      Um. I add cream cheese to everything! I made an awesome slow cooker BBQ chicken and of course I added in cream cheese to creamy it up! YUM!

I just ADORE getting comments! I can't wait to read yours! Thank you so much for hanging out here with me!

