.hello. chili cheese dog casserole (recipe)

Since I’ve been spending the last few weeks babysitting a soon to be 2 year old I’ve been trying to find fun projects and easy toddler friendly meals that will make Ace happy! So I bring to you- Toddler Takeover Tuesday!
Ace is a pretty picky eater. I’ve learned a couple of tricks in our nightly dinner war. Turn off the toons and take away the cup and only serve one food at a time (most important first! Proteins, then veggies, then grains, then fruits, and finally milk for some dairy!) and if it’s at all possible, mix as many of those foods together so you can serve them as one full punch meal! We did spaghetti twice last week so I needed something a little different. I had a lot of work ahead of me and I didn’t want to spend forever in the kitchen. We had a ton of hot dogs in the fridge, but I didn’t want just hot dogs for him so we made Chili Cheese Dog Casserole! It was easy, fast, and had meat, cheese, and some veggies in one swoop, plus it was easily eaten with his hands and we all know how much 2 year olds love to make a mess! So if you have a busy night and need something fast but yummy, try this out!

Chili Cheese Dog Casserole
6 hot dog buns, torn into pieces
8 hot dogs, cut into round slices
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
2 cans of your favorite chili (I use Hormel with no beans, but feel free to use whatever you prefer, or better yet, make your own!)Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
Layer the torn pieces of bun in the bottom of a 13×9 pan, on top of that layer the hot dogs, then the chili, finally the cheese. Cover the whole pan with aluminum foil and bake for 20 minutes. Remove the foil and bake for an additional 10 to melt the remaining cheese. Serve it up with mustard or any other hotdog toppings of your choice!

Another toddler success!

When I told Ace’s mom about this the first words out of her mouth were “OMG! Does that have tater tots in it?!” Um, why didn’t I think of that?! Guess what will be added next time we make this dish probably in place of the buns! I’ll be sure to update you with the results! What are your favorite toddler recipes and activities? Please share! I’d love to hear! I could use any tips and tricks!

2 thoughts on “.hello. chili cheese dog casserole (recipe)

  1. Hello! I wound up here after seeing you last night at the Content is King class on Alt Summit. I have a two year old (and a one year old) and getting them to eat is always a challenge 🙂 Looking forward to reading your blog in the future!

I just ADORE getting comments! I can't wait to read yours! Thank you so much for hanging out here with me!

