.hello. salsa chicken

It’s been quite a fun activity for me during the week to find new crock pot meals to share with you for Slow Cooker Sunday! Last Sunday I was looking for something that I could use the salsa in I got at the Farmers Market the day before. Let me start out by saying, you can use any kind of salsa you want, but this salsa is the best salsa I’ve ever had. Seriously! I don’t like hot salsa and though she can make it hot, this was mild, thick, chunky, and fresh! I can’t get enough of it! I’ll be getting up at the crack of dawn every Saturday from now on just to go by and pick up a jar! I love it! This recipe was super easy and exactly what I was looking for for the craving I was having that day! I just can’t get over how good it was!

Salsa Chicken
8 frozen boneless chicken tenders (or you could use 4 breasts!) *Note, these are frozen, if you use fresh chicken you need to adjust your cook time!
1 (10 oz) can of Cream of Chicken
1 cup of your favorite salsa
1 packet of taco seasoning mix
1/2 cup sour cream

Spray the bottom of your crock pot with nonstick spray then line the bottom with your chicken.
Sprinkle the taco seasoning packet over the chicken and coat it evenly.
In a separate bowl combined your cream of chicken soup with your salsa. Mix well and pour over the chicken.
Cook on low for 6-7 hours.
Once your chicken is finished cooking, remove it from the slow cooker and shred it with 2 forks. Place it back into the slow cooker and mix in your sour cream.
Serve over rice or on a warmed tortilla!

If you want to know a quick cheat that I did. Instead of buying seasoning, tortillas, and rice separately, I had a burrito kit on hand and used a little of the seasoning on the chicken instead of the taco seasoning, cut up and baked the tortillas to make them into chips, and cooked the rice and beans then added butter and sour cream to them. I ate mine over the top of the rice and beans mixture (and it was amazing!) and the hubs ate his with the tortillas and rice on the side! He licked his plate clean and finished the pot! I’m gonna have to start doubling these recipes! 🙂

I think this recipe would also be great with a drained can of mexicorn added in so if you try that, let me know!

5 thoughts on “.hello. salsa chicken

    • Oooh! THANK YOU, Kristina! I’ve actually been thinking about doing just that for a while now! The canned stuff is easier, but we’ve really been watching our processed foods. The fresher, the better!

  1. Pingback: Salsa Chicken {Freezer Cooking} | .hello.lj

I just ADORE getting comments! I can't wait to read yours! Thank you so much for hanging out here with me!

