.hello. hell week- day 1

Hell week is the term given in theater meaning the week of opening night, and yes, it’s as hellish and it’s named for. Long rehearsals every night until it’s perfect. While it’s the roughest part of the run, it is, in my opinion the most bonding time as well. The greatest thing about being in a show, other than your first moment on the stage in front of your first audience on opening night, is the family you make along the way. As tired as you are when you get home, as crappy as you feel, as sore as you are, you know there are 40+ people that feel the same. There is some solace in that. Everyone wants to feel like they’re not alone and that’s certainly something you can get out of doing community theater. You’re never alone.

Tootles and Curly!-Lost boys of Neverland!

Tonight was day 1 of hell week. I’d say it was successful. It lets you know where you stand and you know how fast you need to get where you need to be. I started dressing tonight full out for the first time. It is certainly much harder to move around, breathe, and sing when being bound to play a boy, so that’s an adjustment, but other than getting my sleeves to stay rolled up and figuring out a way for my knee pads to not cut off the circulation to my legs, I think we’re pretty good as far as costuming goes! We’ve got to get the final touches for Ran, but he’s coming along too. My wig is hilarious, and honestly, to die for. I love it. It truly makes me feel like “Curly”. He’s goofy, and snotty, and he has no idea where he is or where he’s going half the time. He’s clumsy and a little all over the place, but he has a good heart. I like him. 🙂 It took me a long time to figure out just who he is, but once I got on stage with the set, he began to make sense to me. There are still parts of him I want to explore this week. He’s emotional connection to his brothers, his love for Peter, he need to have a mother. I feel like at this point, as silly as he is, he’s void of some emotion I’m missing somewhere. I’ll find it though. It seems odd to think so deeply into a character in a children’s show, but really J.M Barrie deserves no less. He wrote the character and the character deserves to be heard (even if he wasn’t included in the Cathy Rigby version… cough cough :/ ).

Me as Curly! Do I look like a boy?

The lost boys are getting it together. I feel like we’ve had a great chemistry since we’ve started and we’ve been building from there. There are a lot of bumps and bruises and it’s certainly the most physical role I’ve ever done that I can recall, but we have fun with it. I really am crazy about each and every one of them and I’m so proud to be in such a strong group of actors. Each and every one of them has brought a fun and unique personality to their boy and it’s been wonderful to watch them change and grow. We’re a motley crew, that’s for certain!

One of the coolest things about the whole show is watching Peter and the kids fly. I mean, it truly will take your breath away the first time you see it. I felt like a child, giddy, the first night I was at rehearsal and Peter started flipping through the air! So very cool! I have to show you some photos taken by my dear friend and show photographer, Brooke Bikneris. You can check her out at http://www.brookebikneris.com/! She’s doing such an amazing job with the photos (as always!) and really giving us fabulous memories to keep and look back on!

Peter flipping through the air! – Photo by Brooke Bikneris

 

Michael’s first flight- Photo by Brooke Bikneris

 

The Darling Children- Photo by Brooke Bikneris

Peter Pan in the Nursery- Photo by Brooke Bikneris

All in all, I can’t wait to see what the rest of the week brings. It may be hell week, but it a heck of a ride! Everyone will be in costume tomorrow and we’re quickly working out our rough edges. I say we’re right on track for opening night! It’s in just 4 days! If you’re in the central Alabama area and you’ve got some time this weekend or next, I highly recommend you check out the show. It’s going to be amazing! (And I’m not just saying that because I’m in it!) Check out all the details, and purchase tickets right here! http://www.charactersentertainment.com/

 

 

I just ADORE getting comments! I can't wait to read yours! Thank you so much for hanging out here with me!

