.hello. my first deep fried apple pies

In Alabama, we fry things. It’s just who we are. It’s like sweet tea and college football. You don’t get one in your blood without everything else coming along with it. I don’t fry things often (because I have a horrifying fear of hot grease) but when I dip something into hot oil and hear it start to sizzle, I feel just like Paula Deen. I’m going to tell you right now, my inner voice is at her most Southern at the moment (that also happens when I fry things) so you’re probably gonna hear a lot of ‘y’alls’.

My fear of frying is actually just like this.

Over the past few weeks, between the farmers market and a very nice grandmother of one of our Indians in Peter Pan, I’ve had my fair share of fried apple pies. It’s only been in the last year or so I began to like them. You couldn’t get me to touch a fruit fried pie when I was little. I guess I just had to get a little more Southern grown before I could appreciate them. Lately I’ve been determined to learn to make my own. Now let me just say, I had no idea what I was doing. I knew you had to cook apples in sugar and I knew how to fry something till it turned brown. Everything else, I just kind of winged it with. I don’t regret it one bit. They were ugly, but MAN are they good, y’all! Trust me on that!

I stood in the produce section of Walmart for about half an hour trying to decide on apples, with my trusty phone I googled what apples are best in apple pie, and unless you want expensive organic apples, go with gala. They’re sweet but not too sweet and they hold their shape well. They don’t get mushy when cooked right! And they’re a bargain at $3.48 a bag! I added a Granny Smith in mine for good measure to cut any extra sweetness!
Now I have a horrible history with trying to make homemade dough (the hubby does too, he just refuses to admit how bad his is.) so I decided to go with premade pie crusts. I’ve heard you can use canned biscuits and I bought some to try out, but it just seems to me like they’d puff up too much, so I went with the crusts.

I used
A pack (2 crusts) premade pie dough (Pilsbury for me!)
4 Gala apples and one Granny Smith apple peeled, chopped, and cored
3 tablespoons of butter
I was suppose to use 1/2 of white sugar, but I didn’t have quite enough so here I’m going to say 1/2 cup white sugar with 3 tablespoons taken out and 3 tablespoons of dark brown sugar added in. I really believe this small change made a huge difference to the taste of the filling, and not to toot my own horn, but the filling was the best I’ve ever had.
1 teaspoon of cinnamon (I just sprinkled it over the top of the filling until I thought there was enough for flavor)
and a splash of vanilla

For the filling: Add the butter to a sauce pot and melt. Add the apples, sugar, vanilla, and cinnamon, and cook over medium heat until the apples are soft, about 15 minutes. I didn’t time mine. I just kept stirring (and taking pictures) and removed them when I felt they were done. Remove from the heat and let them cool.

I rolled out my pie crust (I only used 1, but I only made 5 small pies and one big one) and used the top of a really wide mouthed glass to cut it into circles. I would have rather my pies been bigger, but they were pretty adorable in their miniature size. I was able to get 5 circles out of the crust then I wadded up the rest of the crust and rolled it out to be my final and largest pie.

Doesn’t that apple peeling in the second photo look just like a vintage Barbie cameo? It can’t just be me that sees it!

Like I said above, I’m terrified of frying things. I plugged in my deep fryer that I haven’t used in forever, pored in nearly a gallon size bottle of oil and waited for it to heat…. and I waited….. and waited…

and waited. :/ It didn’t work. Crap. At this point I had to muster up all my Southern Belle courage, put my big girl panties on and pore the grease into a large wide rimmed skillet. A large pot would work even better. I let it heat until it started really getting bubbly and scary. It’s suppose to be at 350, but I honestly had no idea how to check it so I just went with it and it turned out fine. I put my 5 small pies in the grease and watched them dance around for a little bit. I know when donuts are frying they start to float when it’s time to flip them over so I did that. When they rose up a little bit out of the oil I flipped them and continued to let them dance in the bubbles of horror. When they started looking a nice shade of brown I took them out and laid them on paper towels to finish soaking up all that yummy oil. I sprinkled the tops with white sugar and I was done! They ended up being so ugly they were cute! One fell apart so guess who got eaten first? 😉

Y’all. Y’ALL. THESE WERE AMAZING!! I could eat them all up in one sitting if I didn’t think they’d make me sick! It’s so weird, and maybe it’s the part in me that longs so desperately to be one of those classic old Southern Belles you see in movies, but just making these made me feel like a better lady and a more prepared Momma to be. I mean, how excited are my future kids gonna be to come home to Momma’s fried apple pies after school?! Yep, I’m one of those girls. lol
In short, even though I had no idea what I was doing, they turned out so ugly, but so good! I’ve got to perfect how to make them look right and how to fill them properly, but as far as the flavor goes, I wouldn’t change a thing! I’m proud of them! Especially for my first time making them! 😀

Of course if you follow me on instagram or twitter, you got to watch the progress while I was doing them! (You should follow me on instagram and twitter, btw)

2 thoughts on “.hello. my first deep fried apple pies

    • These were just out of this world! I don’t mean to sound all braggy, but they were so good! I hope they turn out just as well for anyone else that makes them! You should try again!!!

I just ADORE getting comments! I can't wait to read yours! Thank you so much for hanging out here with me!

