.hello. 30 days of Thankful- Day 6

day 6
Today I am thankful for my right to VOTE!


I think people tend to forget, it hasn’t even been 100 years since women did not have the right to vote. We were expected to stay home and let the men folk decide what was best for us. Best for our families.  Best for our county. Here we are 92 years later, and thanks to our Mother’s Mother’s Mother we get equal say in the world around us.
My mom started carrying me to the polls as long as I’ve been on this Earth. I can honestly say, in 25 years, I’ve never missed an election. I would roll my eyes at the speeches I’d have to hear on the way there and on the way home, but she obviously did something right, because even though we don’t share the same view points on candidates, I’ve voted in every election since I turned 18. Local or national, I do them all. I spend months researching each candidate and I’d shoot myself in the leg before I’d ever straight party vote. Ran and I always go vote together. Before we go we sit down with the sample ballot and look up every judge, every BoE member, every amendment. We educate ourselves to make sure we’re making the right decision for our family.  When we have a child, they will become part of this long drawn out process. I want our kids to know how important it is to do your research. To really get to the core of the issues and not to let other people’s views or opinions dictate your choices. I want them to know that voting is a right that is there to be exercised and it’s a privilege to live in a country that gives us those rights.
Today I am thankful to the ‘Sister Suffragettes’ who fought so hard so that I may have this right and to the the thousands of men and women who have fought and died to protect it. ❤

I just ADORE getting comments! I can't wait to read yours! Thank you so much for hanging out here with me!

