.hello. voting day 2012

I may be lame, but election day is one of my favorite days of the year (every 4 years that is. Too much excitement to happen every year!)! It’s a national holiday for me and I enjoy it so much, even if the outcome isn’t what I’d hoped for. I’ve been with my husband since I was legally of age to vote so every election day has been spent with him by my side. We do research months before hand, but the day of the election we always sit down with the sample ballot and do any last minute research on candidates like judges we don’t know much about and always try to decode the amendments to know where to place our vote there. Then we set off for the polls.



Today we voted at the same location I’ve voted at for every single election so far. I love our polling place. It’s small and there are never any terrible terrible lines and if there are lines they always have the sweetest people there that talk to you and keep you entertained. We got there later in the day today so there weren’t a ton of people there. We always sit together and chat about the ballots even though I’m sure we aren’t suppose to.


We don’t wear our voting stickers, we put ours on our license so we see them everyday. I have my ‘sticker collection’ from each election I’ve been apart of personally.

Rocked the Vote!

My ‘sticker collection’!

 

After we voted we popped over to Starbucks, because you can’t have voting without some sort of coffee or drink to chill you out. This year they were giving these fantastic indivisible bracelets to those that voted! These were our first red cups of the season and I was excited to grab my first Caramel Apple Spice of the holidays!

Thanks, Starbucks!


We went out to dinner like always. Covallis of course, because that’s our favorite place to eat in the county. Now we’ll settle in for the night and our eyes will be on CNN until we find out who is the next president. I’m very nervous this year, but I try to keep in mind that no matter what happens, we’re going to be okay. It’s so close this year it could really go either way. The next time I post the nation will be different, be it with a new leader or with a new plan from the same leader. Some people will be angry, some will be overjoyed. I know, either way, I’ll be glad to stop seeing all the hate that is spewed around this time every 4 years. I hope everyone got out to the polls today and rocked their right to vote!

2 thoughts on “.hello. voting day 2012

  1. We voted bright and early this A.M. & went back to bed immediately. But we did manage to make it over to Starbucks later in the Day- where I received one of the bracelets as well!! Very cool!!

    ….I think you & should live closer to each other. 🙂

I just ADORE getting comments! I can't wait to read yours! Thank you so much for hanging out here with me!

