.hello. office redo inspirations

When we moved in to our house over 3 years ago, I kid you not when I tell you this room was lime green with orange, navy, red, and yellow polka dots all over it. I’ll try to dig up some old photos so you can see them, but it really was unreal. I knew from the moment I saw this house that that room (2nd biggest in the house) would be the nursery one day. In fact, I’ve always referred to it as the nursery and that is were I stored all of the baby things I’d bought and collected through the years. Before fostering fell through for us, that is were all of that stuff was stored too. It ended up becoming a very sad place for me. A room that after 30 months of infertility I could not and would not go into. It was in total disarray and looked terrible. A couple of months ago we decided that we desperately needed and office instead of two junk rooms and that it was time to rid the room of the broken dreams and give it a new life. I was excited. Elated! An office! Finally an organized place to work on my crap. A place to package client orders and to edit. YES! I was pumped. Until I started trying to clean it out. I thought I’d be okay, but I wasn’t. I’d end up filtering through boxes and boxes of baby clothes and wind up as a crying crumpled heap on the floor. That is when my darling hubby stepped in. He spent two days while I was out shooting packing up and clearing out everything in that room. We didn’t get rid of anything, he took it to his parents so that one day when we are blessed with a child in one way or another it will be there waiting, but not hanging over us like a dark cloud. The next day he transformed the room into a wonderful “Christmas Room”! The tree, a tv set up for Christmas movies, and a hot chocolate station! It was precious and that is the state it is in as of right now. Tonight we are taking down the tree and finally working on getting the office complete. I’ve got about 5 pieces of furniture to paint so it won’t be an all at once process but I hope to have it completely finished by February and usable by the first of January.
We’ve decided to keep the grey walls we painted back in 2010 (you should’ve seen the fight to cover those dots!) and go with chalk painted white for the desks and tables. To this we want to add a lot of earthy textures. Wood, glass, chalkboard, tin, ect… with a color palate of grey, white, linen, and honey with pops of dusty teal. I’ve made a pretty fantastic pin board and I thought I’d share some of that inspiration with you tonight!

This is the desk I’m refinishing for me. I’m painting it a dull matte white and distressing it as well as switching out the hardware to something with a vintage feel. More than likely a faux mercury glass!

DeskOakTeacher
I love the look of white desks and tables and letting other smaller pieces popping the color and those frame walls are fabulous!
craftroomtour-1024x681
We are also all about the cube shelf right now, and I LOVE this one hung on the wall! I adore maximum amounts of floor space so this is perfect!
wall cube
I am a total basket person, so in those cube shelves you’re sure to see a lot of these:greywash wickerbaskets
Also as far as storage and shelving, I love these tin buckets in the first photo and the tall wire egg crates in the second. Perfect for pens and client folders!

wood and tinwire baskets
I have a hope chest my step father made me for Christmas about 5 years ago. I’ve been wanting to repurpose it, as since I’ve gotten a house and gotten married, it’s become less of a hope chest, more of a throw pillows and blankets we’ll never use chest. I haven’t decided yet if I’m going to paint it or not. I want to, but then again, I don’t want to change it for sentimental reasons. This is the perfect way to redo my hope chest!! Hide your filing cabinet inside a chest when not in use by creating a Mini Office in a Chest. it can also double as extra seating by throwing a few throw pillows on top. The inside of the chest drawer doubles as a cork board for pinning important notices! How GREAT is this!?

office chest
We just got this frame for Christmas and I LOVE it! I’m planning on putting it in our dinning room, but the more I look at it, the more I think it may be making an appearance in our office instead! I love the mix of the black with the burlap. We’ll be using a lot of burlap and unbleached cotton in the room in the accents and pillows!
black frameAnother running theme through out will be the use of chalkboards. Well, chalkboard paint anyway! I think I’ll be painting the top of my desk in it and of course I’ve got to have chalkboard jars! And how great are these cans painted in chalkboard? So cheap and easy!
calkboard jarschalkboard tins
Ran will be sharing the office with me and he likes the look of open shelving, so while my side will probably have the cubes, he’ll more than likely have something like this, with a lot of workspace as well!

open shelving

The focus will be on having a pleasant, uncluttered workspace with lots and lots of organization. Here are some other spaces we like the look of!
shelf59320920062421065_HFpjgbkr_c 215046950926429609_5p6hs4EL_c 232990980691828864_3moyJOwR_b
Today at target I found the greatest candles that were honey scented. One was in the shape of a bottle and had a tree and ‘royal honey’ carved out in it and the other was in the shape of a ball jar! They were amazing and fantastic and beautiful and I WILL have them for my office! I may never use them, but they are MUST HAVES! I’m planing on buying 3. The ball jar, the bottle, and a pilar with a honeycomb pattern, all have this yummy earthy honey smell and look so natural and beautiful! (PS, if you ever want to get me anything from Target, just look for anything in the Threshold brand. I pretty much adore any and all of it!) I want to set them on a wooden tray. They’ll go perfectly with all the colors we’ve picked out for the room. Here’s a little texture/color sample idea board.

TextureAnd a few accessories you may see come into play!

accesories

It will all come little by little, but I’m excited to make a space that is our and that is all about us and our needs. It’ll be nice getting all of my work stuff in one place too so I’m not constantly panicking looking for packaging materials or blank photo disks. I’m not an organized person at all but I do like everything to have their place, be it a basket or box, or shelf. What are some office must haves for organization?

You can find everything in this blog on my handy dandy office redo pinboard! Follow me on Pinterest!

One thought on “.hello. office redo inspirations

I just ADORE getting comments! I can't wait to read yours! Thank you so much for hanging out here with me!

