.hello. one dish chicken and veggies (recipe)

Can you believe I’m actually posting something to do with food that doesn’t involve a crock pot or a casserole? WOW! lol! This recipe has been running rampant all over Pinterest and I’ve had it pinned for a while, but I’m not gonna lie, it looked gross to me. Something about raw chicken baking with potatoes. I was convinced I would get some sort of food poisoning. I was also raised in a Baptist church and when a Baptist woman tells you to try something more than once, you better do it, because it’s gonna be good. Not to toot our horn, but us Baptist know what we’re talking about when it comes to comfort food, especially chicken. It’s in our blood. Family, fellowship, and food! You don’t have one without the other! ๐Ÿ˜‰

This dish was super duper easy and here is the original pin from my board that I used as a jumping off point. I’m not a fan of Italian dressing (anything vinegar-y, blech!) so I looked at the other seasonings from the same brand and found a garlic and herb dressing mix instead. YUMMO! Garlic? Herbs? Yes, ma’am! I also used a bit of ranch dressing mix because, well, it’s me, and everything is better with ranch dressing.

One Dish Chicken and Veggies

One Dish Chicken and Veggies

4 chicken breasts (I used 6 tenders, if using frozen, thaw first)
4-5 red potatoes quartered
2 cans green beans (I used 3, we’re big green bean fans over here!)
1 packet of Garlic and Herb dressing Mix
a handful of chopped onion
1 stick of butter

Chicken lined up in the center, green beans on one side, potatoes on the other arrange in 9×13 dish. Sprinkle with a packet of dressing mix and then top with a melted stick of butter. Cover with foil and bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour

How easy is that? And how easy is clean up! You have one baking dish and you’re done!

I didn’t know what to expect out of this recipe considering it wasn’t smothered in cream of something soup and it wasn’t served over rice (you can totally serve this over rice!!!) and I didn’t mix it up with pasta and I didn’t cook it for 4 hours on high. Obviously not my usual bag, but the hubs and I thought it was really good! Especially RJ. He said he loved it! I served it with some garlic bread and we snuggled up and watched a movie. A meat, 2 veggies, one dish, dinner done. Ahhh, this is the life!

I’ve heard people subbing the chicken for pork chops (not in this house with our pet pig, but it does sound good!) or the green beans with broccoli or asparagus, or ย the potatoes with sweet potatoes, which the hubs would love! Sounds to me like this is one of those buildable meals you can do anything with and still get an awesome result! I LOVE stuff like that!

PS- totally making this in the crock pot next time! ๐Ÿ˜‰

One Dish Chicken and Veggies-2

I just ADORE getting comments! I can't wait to read yours! Thank you so much for hanging out here with me!

