.hello. One Pot Pasta (recipe)

We’re on a roll with our one dish meals, right?! Whoo hoo! Fast and easy and low clean up- the lazy gourmet’s dream!

I found this one on FB and made it then fell in love! My mother in law called me the next day to tell me all about this amazing pasta dish she just found on Pinterest that only used one pot, and low and behold, it was my new favorite dish! I actually made this 3 times in one week because I couldn’t get enough and we never had left overs. I was literally CRAVING it! Here is the original post I was taken to, but of course, I switched things up a bit semi homemade style just because it’s what I had on hand.  (please excuse the crappy instagram photo. I’ll take actual photos next time I cook it!)

270417_944765616539_1065173776_n

ONE POT TOMATO BASIL PASTA

12 ounces thin spaghetti
1 can (15 ounces) diced rotel with liquid (I used mild)
a handful of chopped frozen onion (I can’t stand the smell of onions on my hands so I buy this in the frozen veggie isle and I’m not sure how I cooked without it!)
2 Tbsps minced garlic
2 teaspoons dried oregano leaves
2 teaspoons dried basil
4 cups chicken broth (not low sodium!(
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

Place pasta, tomatoes, onion, garlic, basil, and oregano in a large stock pot. Pour in chicken broth.  Drizzle top with oil.

Cover pot and bring to a boil. Reduce to a medium simmer and keep covered and cook for about 10 minutes, stirring every 2 minutes or so. Cook until almost all liquid is gone.

That’s it. You’re done! I really didn’t believe it would turn out. I really didn’t! And then I didn’t understand why I haven’t been cooking pasta this way all along! It was so fresh tasting and not heavy at all! I actually prefer it over regular spaghetti! Ours was a little spicy, but I’m not sure why, as I added nothing spicy to it, but I could literally eat this every day. The original recipe said to let it simmer, but my old stove is either boil or off so I left it on around medium high and it cooked nicely without burning. Just keep an eye on it.

I just ADORE getting comments! I can't wait to read yours! Thank you so much for hanging out here with me!

