And so it begins

Week 8 has started out with a bam. Seriously. I was down the entire weekend and I felt like crap. I was so restless Saturday. As soon as I woke up I was uncomfortable. I didn’t feel well and I was whiny. Poor Ran. We went and saw The Fault In Our Stars (SOOOOO good!) and went to Mellow Mushroom to eat pizza, since pizza is about all I want these days. As soon as we got home I laid down. Later that night all hell broke loose. Yep. My first time actually getting sick from this pregnancy. Now, in case you aren’t aware, throwing up because you’re pregnant is totally different than throwing up when you aren’t. I was not aware of this. When you are pregnant your body’s goal is to get any and everything you could have possibly eaten in the last 36 hours out as fast and as much as it possibly can. Once you have completed this task it’s over. Seriously. No gagging, no dry heaves, you’re done. It’s a blessing and a curse I suppose. A blessing because when it’s over, it’s over. I could’ve actually eaten right after which is so weird to me. A curse because, well, who wants to get sick when you aren’t actually sick? I am beyond lucky though. That marked my first time truly getting sick in this pregnancy and I know for that I am lucky! Those that do nothing but throw up, well, I must be a wimp, because I don’t know how they do it. At all. Sunday wasn’t much better. I had to leave church because I got so nauseated and I could barely hold my head up most of the day. I couldn’t enjoy lunch because I couldn’t eat anything and we were at one of my favorite places. I finally took a nap and some zofran and I felt a little bit better, but not by much. We went out to dinner with the gang for Heather’s birthday and I barely ate there too. I slept well though! That was a first in quite a while!
Monday I woke up and I guess Sprout knew it was doctor day or felt really guilty about my weekend because I had energy and not a drop of nausea for a while! I was wonderful! This nausea follows me around like a shadow. It’s always there. I haven’t really found what helps. I mean, chips and salt help, but it doesn’t make it go away. But not yesterday! Yesterday I felt good for the first time in a while! I left work a little early (and the kids gave me a great day too!) and Teresa and I headed off to see Dr. J! This was my first ‘check up’ from him since I found out I was pregnant so I didn’t know what to expect, but I was excited. It was also the first time I walked into that office without one drop of worry or dread. No fear, just peace. We had a great check up. They couldn’t find Sprout’s heartbeat via the doppler (which it totally normal at this point!) so we got to get another sonogram. I told his my kid is going to be as big of a camera hog as I am and just wanted to show off so we could see it. It’s gotten SO BIG! You could even see little arm nubbins and leg nubbins! It looked like a gummy bear! Teresa got to see the baby too and she was just in awe. I love that little sprout more than words can say and I fall more and more in love every time we get to see it. Somehow but not surprisingly, between my nausea and meat aversion, I’ve managed to gain 5 lbs. UGH! I knew I’d gained because you can already see a gut, but I was hoping it wouldn’t be that much. He didn’t get on to me but I know I need to get a hold on myself and get control over this weight. I’d like to only gain about 25 total. We’ll see how that goes. Hopefully I can get back into better eating habits when I can get back to normal eating.

I just ADORE getting comments! I can't wait to read yours! Thank you so much for hanging out here with me!

