Our Birth Plan

Birth Preferences for Lauryn and Ran Johnson
My doctor is Dr. Joshua Johannson and my EDD is January 10th, 2015

Environment
*during labor I only want my husband, doula, and birth photographer present. No guests unless I specifically ask for them.

Pain management/Monitoring
*I prefer not to have an IV continuously, please obtain labs at the same time as access
*
Only offer pain medication if I specifically ask for it.
*I prefer the baby to monitored with intermittent fetal monitoring

Labor/Birth
*I would like a birth with as low intervention as possible.
* I prefer to labor in the water tub.
*I would like to have the freedom to move about freely as I need and try many positions while in labor.
*Please discuss any and all procedures with me and my husband before they are performed.
*I prefer having very limited vaginal exams.
*I prefer not to have an episiotomy.
*I prefer to push instinctively. I do not want to be told how or when to push.
*I prefer no augmentation. Please allow my membranes to rupture spontaneously.
*Please place the baby against my skin with a blanket over him.
*Please wait for the umbilical cord to stop pulsing before it is clamped.
*Please do not separate the baby from me unless medically necessary.
*Please delay all routine procedures on baby to facilitate bonding.
*I would like to initiate breastfeeding as soon as possible.
*I prefer to wait for spontaneous delivery of the placenta.
*I would prefer to save the placenta to take home.
*Please only give Pitocin postpartum if medically necessary.
*Please use warm water for maternal cleansing.

In case a cesarean becomes necessary
*
I would prefer Ran to be present for the surgery, if possible, our birth photographer as well.
*If it is not an emergency I would like to stay conscious during surgery.
*I would like contact with the baby as soon as possible.
*If everyone is healthy I would like to breastfeed in the recovery room.
*I would like the baby to stay with me at all times if possible.

Newborn Procedures
*Please do not bath our baby.
*Our baby is to be exclusively breastfed.
*Please do not offer artificial nipples without our consent.
*If for any reason breastfeeding is not possible please use donor breast milk rather than formula.
*Please no use of erythromycin, gentian violet, and no hep B vaccination.
*Please allow me to hold or nurse our baby why injections are given or blood is drawn for routine procedures.
*Our son is not to be circumcised.

2 thoughts on “Our Birth Plan

    • It’s not medically necessary and a lot of times it can cause more harm than good. I literally cried over it for months and I sat down and did the research as to why it’s done and the risks of not having it done, I talked it over with Ran and our doctor and when the doctor told him it was just as healthy either way and it was a visual preference we decided against it. 🙂

I just ADORE getting comments! I can't wait to read yours! Thank you so much for hanging out here with me!

