Crockpot Shredded Chicken

The easiest way I’ve found to make the chicken for my freezer food bases is to cook it in bulk in the crock pot. It is easy and when I slow cook it for hours it makes the most tender shredded chicken you can imagine. You don’t even have to use a fork, it falls apart in your hands. It also makes a great broth to use in other recipes or to freeze for later!
I buy my chicken breasts in bulk, but I’m toying with the idea of using thighs instead since they’re cheaper and I’m using them in recipes rather than by themselves. I buy them frozen but whatever chicken you have is fine. I use boneless always. I hate pulling stuff off the bone. Again, personal preference.

I fill my crock pot nearly to the top with frozen chicken. Breast, thighs, tenders, whatever suits your fancy. I then fill it to the top with water and add one can of chicken broth just for extra flavor. I add salt, pepper, and garlic and cook on high for about 5 hrs or so. What you get is the most tender shreddable chicken and it’s delicious. You can freeze it just like this or do what I do and use it in your base recipes.
I pull the amount of chicken I need for the recipe I’m working on, shred it into a bowl, add the other ingredients, stir then bag and freeze. Easy peasy!

One thought on “Crockpot Shredded Chicken

  1. Pingback: Spinach Dip Chicken Pasta {Freezer Cooking} | .hello.lj

I just ADORE getting comments! I can't wait to read yours! Thank you so much for hanging out here with me!

