Salsa Chicken {Freezer Cooking}

Almost 3 years ago I posted a blog where I made my Salsa Chicken for the first time. Since then I’ve modified it a bit so I wanted to not only give you the updated recipe, but I wanted to show you how I make it freezer friendly and turn it into enchiladas in 20 mins flat!
Keep in mind, I’m doubling all ingredients so I can freeze several meals. I freeze enough for 2 people plus a bit extra. Modify this as needed for your family.

1510576_10100475006092349_1911480930969599707_nFirst I take my shredded chicken and put about 4 breast worth in a bowl. To that I add a large can and a small can of cream of chicken, a jar of salsa, 2 cans of black beans drained, and a packet of mild taco seasoning. If you want it even creamier you can add a cup of sour cream to this mixture. Sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t. You can always add it when you heat it. I mix everything well then using a ladle fill a quart sized Ziplock freezer bag about 3/4 of the way full. Push out all the air, seal, and freeze flat so you can stack them. I can usually get 3 big bags an a lunch portion bag with this amount.

When I’m getting this ready to eat I pull the bag from the freezer and put it under hot running water in my sink. While that’s thawing I heat my rice. I use Uncle Ben’s Spanish Rice in the 90 second heat up pack. This is a personal preference completely based on convenience. You can make your own rice to add, but I like that I can just grab the pack out of my pantry and pop it the microwave.
Once the chicken base has thawed I move it from the bag into a bowl and add the rice and stir. At this point, if you didn’t add sour cream before, you can now. I spray my 13×9 pan so that nothing sticks then I grab my tortillas and start filling. I put about 3 large spoon fulls of the chicken/rice mixture in each then fold over like an envelope and put it seam side down in my baking dish. After filling my pan with roll ups I cover them all with taco sauce. I buy the taco bell mild sauce. Yep. Just like you get in the packets at TB. I spread the taco sauce around to cover the tops completely then I cover the whole thing with shredded cheese. Bake at 350 for 30 mins. They’ll be nice and bubbly and hot and DELICIOUS!

As you can tell, everything I use is mild from the salsa, to the seasoning, to the taco sauce. This is because I’m a big ol wimp when it comes to spicy food. I’m not a fan at all. My husband on the other hand….. You can spice this up as much as you want depending on what you use.

Ingredient list:
For the chicken base-
4 shredded chicken breasts
1 large can of cream of chicken soup
1 small can of cream of chicken soup
1 jar of salsa (your temperature preference)
1 packet of taco seasoning
2 cans of drained black beans

Mix and freeze in ziplock bags

For enchiladas
1 ziplock bag of salsa chicken base thawed
1 pack of Spanish Rice prepared
1 cup of sour cream
Soft Tortillas
Taco Sauce
Shredded Cheese of your choice

Mix chicken base, sour cream, and rice. Fill Tortillas, place in a baking dish. Cover with taco sauce and cheese. Bake at 350 for 20-30 mins until bubbling and fully heated through.

I’ve been told you can make the enchiladas ahead of time and freeze them so you just have to pop them in the oven, but I worry they’ll get soggy. If it works for you, let me know! I’d love to cut out the steps when cooking. But over all the enchiladas take less than 10 mins to put together then let them bake for 20 mins and dinners done in 30!

One thought on “Salsa Chicken {Freezer Cooking}

I just ADORE getting comments! I can't wait to read yours! Thank you so much for hanging out here with me!

