Easy Cheesy Chicken Casserole {Freezer Cooking}

I’ll get actual photos up of this later, but I had to get this recipe up and I didn’t think to photograph it as I was making it.

11223593_10100560491613679_7673148154503668786_n

I haven’t made a freezer meal in months. I actually haven’t made anything in a couple of months. Summer got the best of us and we were always out and usually that involved picking up food or sitting down at a restaurant. Welp, school is back in session and our wallets are stretched thin so back to the kitchen I go!
I was scrolling through facebook the other day and on my newsfeed I came across a recipe for Swiss Chicken. We are huge chicken eaters so I skimmed the recipe, picked out the important parts, and made a mental note to pick up what I needed to make it. I wanted to make enough to have a couple of freezer meals as well. By the time I finally got around to picking things up I couldn’t remember the exact base recipe so I just winged it. We ate it tonight and It. Was. Amazing. Seriously. So good. I wish I’d made bigger portions.

What you’ll need

6-8 frozen chicken breasts
1 large can of cream of chicken (or mushroom if you prefer)
Sour Cream
Sliced swiss cheese (mozerella or colby jack would work just as well, or pepper jack to add some spice)
ranch packet, salt, pepper, parsley, and basil
(Not for Freezer) Crushed Ritz Crackers for the top and half of a stick of butter. (I used the garlic butter ritz and they were great!)

I made this for each of us to have 1 chicken breast per freezer meal, but I wish I’d doubled the amount of chicken. In my rectangular freezer pans I put in 2 chicken breasts and over the top laid a piece of cheese on each. In a separate bowl I mixed my soup with the sour cream and added my ranch, parsley, basil, salt and pepper.

To prepare for the freezer-
in your freezer pan put down your chicken breast, cover with cheese, then spread your soup mixture over it. Pop in your freezer. When you are ready to eat thaw first then add your crushed ritz crackers to cover the top. Pour your melted butter over the the crackers and bake at 375 for 45 mins.

To prepare for the table
In a glass casserole dish lay down your chicken breasts and lay a piece of cheese over each. Cover with your soup mixture then cover the top with the crushed crackers. Pour your melted butter over the top. Cook on 375 for 45 mins.

I love this over rice but it can also be served on it’s own with sides. The sauce is thin so be prepared for it. The sauce is delish though so I practically poured it over my whole plate! Amazing!

I just ADORE getting comments! I can't wait to read yours! Thank you so much for hanging out here with me!

