New Year-New Life

Turning 29 was particularly hard for me. Unhappy with my life and my body. I felt trapped and like I had no purpose. The concept of being 29 drove me mad knowing I was tiptoeing into my 30s in a life I wasn’t satisfied with. I needed change. Not just change. I needed an overhaul. I dyed my hair like a mermaid and walked into Oxford Weight Loss knowing I never wanted to look back.
Starting Photos- Day 1Day 1

I tried Adapex nearly 7 years ago and it worked WONDERFULLY. I lost 60 lbs in just about 5 months.. I expected the same results this time, but sadly that just wasn’t in the cards. I don’t know if it’s because I’m older, or because my body chemistry changed after giving birth, but after just a few weeks, I realized this wasn’t the route I wanted or needed to go. It gave me a push to get started, but I knew if I wanted to lose weight and keep it off, there was no magic pill or shortcut that was going to work. It was just going to be dedication and hard work and I had to make a lifestyle change for anything to be different for me
I’ve been asked several times what I’m doing and how I’m doing it to lose weight. I hope eventually I can edit this post to add my starting weight, but sadly, right now, I’m just not brave enough to do that. I am so taken aback by those that can strip down and be so honest about where they are on their journey, but at this time, I don’t mind showing all the photos in the world, all the things I eat, but I simply cannot share my starting or current weight. I’m just too ashamed.I’m happy to share everything else with you though!
Week 1Week 1

The first thing I did was get my starting weight, my measurements, a blood panel to make sure everything was okay with me, and I set myself goals. Not just weight loss goals, but personal goals as well. And dates. I’ll admit, the original goals were unrealistic as far as the weight loss went, I was basing them on my previous success with adapex, but I’ve yet to not beat those goals and I hope I can continue to.
Week 2
Week 2

I wrote out my dates in a keep tab on my phone to log my weight weekly. I weight in once a week on Wednesdays. At first I was only weighting in this day but the more I’ve lost the more curious I’ve gotten. I’m only allowed to log once a week though. My goal was 10 lbs a month or 15 lbs every 5 weeks so every 5 weeks I’d put my goal weight on that date. So far I’ve beaten that goal by a pound or so. The benefit to this was that when I was getting close to my 5 week weigh in I knew if I needed to push a little harder that week. Accountability has been my biggest motivator.
Week 3
Week 3

MyFitnessPal and my Fitbit have been the biggest part of keeping me accountable. Nothing goes into my mouth without being logged. Counting calories seems awful, but honestly, it really don’t mind it. It’s been really eye opening seeing the amount of calories I’d been consuming prior. It kind of grossed me out. Still does. I’ve started plugging in my calories before I eat so there is no surprise and I know how much I have left for the day. You have to choose the right amount of calories you want to make your goal based on your lifestyle. I try to stick to 1,100-1,200 a day but MFP gives me a top out of 1,270 a day. I’ve noticed the days I have a higher caloric intake the more I lose which is crazy. It probably takes the most dedication in the whole thing, but really, once you get the hang of it, it’s super easy.
Week 6
Week 6

I also walk 5 days a week. Well, I try to anyway. My first goal was 2 miles a day/10 miles a week. About 2 weeks ago I did almost 8 miles in 1 day. Me and one of my best friends were preparing for a 5k so since I haven’t done less than 3 miles per walk. I need to up my game and add in harder cardio to burn more calories faster, but I’m proud that I’ve got from being out of breath at 2 miles to being able to do 4 miles like nothing. The biggest success in my walking has been having a partner and sticking to it. In the mornings Adreon and I walk together and some afternoons I do another round with Sam. It makes the time go faster and keeps your mind off what you are doing. I know people say they don’t have time to walk or exercise or log calories or whatever, but honestly, you have to make the time. No excuses. If you can play around on Facebook you can walk around the neighborhood. It has to be a priority. There are days I meet Ran at the door, walking shoes on, for him to get Oliver so I can go put in my miles. I made it important so he makes it important.
Week 10
Week 10 (Today!)

It hasn’t been as quick as it seems and I’ve had emotionally rough days. When I lost about 20 lbs, I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror naked getting out of the shower (which I try to never do) and I cried. I was so disappointed. I don’t know what I expected to see but it wasn’t anything I liked or was proud of. I called a friend and literally wept on the phone with her. She encouraged me and told me to keep pushing forward. I wasn’t thinking about quitting but I wasn’t happy with my progress. I posted my before and after photo that week on a few of my groups, letting them know I was struggling. Was I fishing for compliments? Absolutely. Because some times you need someone else to notice, to pick you up, to see the forest is spite of the trees. Now I’m at a 30 lb loss. 3 weeks later and I am POSING in front of the mirror while getting ready, because I can see it! I can finally see it. And it feels so good! And it makes me want to push harder.

The thing is, I’m successful, because I demanding myself to be successful. I don’t expect the weight to melt off, and honestly it’s not about that. I decided to change my life, and I am. One day at a time. Every day I strive to meet my goals. If I don’t, that’s okay too, because it’s not a destination. This is life from here on out. Making smart choices. Deciding my priorities. Giving up a cookie in favor of raspberries. Cheating but not going overboard.. Knowing this is the rest of my life. Yes, I want to meet my goals, but I want to maintain this for the rest of my life. I never want to go back to the girl I was before.

Week110
Februrary 12th – April 28th
31.8 lbs down

 

 

I just ADORE getting comments! I can't wait to read yours! Thank you so much for hanging out here with me!

